Indiana Boating Education Law


For more information on the boating laws in the state of Indiana visit:

Mandatory Education and Age Requirements:

Education Requirements

    The Indiana Department of Natural Resources recommends all boaters, regardless of age, take a boating safety class. Although at Indiana does not have specific education requirements for adults, the State does have certain age restrictions for vessel and PWC operation.

  • All motorboat and PWC operators must have a valid driver's license to operate on all Indiana public waters.
  • Motorboat and PWC operators who are 15 years of age may operate said craft until they become a licensed driver only if they have successfully completed an IN DNR approved boater safety education program, are issued an Indiana ID card by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles and have proof of completion in their possession during operation.
  • A person who has never been licensed by the BMV must also complete an INDNR approved boater safety education program and have on board an ID card issued by the BMV.
  • No one under 15 years of age may legally operate a motorboat greater than 10 horsepower or a PWC.
  • Residents of Indiana must have a valid driver's license when operating on Indiana boundary waters. Non-residents do not need a driver's license unless operating in an embayment, river or stream in Indiana.

We provide this information as a service and strive to keep this website up to date. Please let us know of any inconsistencies by bringing them to our attention at once at Resources for these pages include state statutes, state web pages and state approved boating guides. BoatU.S. is not responsible for any misinterpretation of the law or any change in the law that is not adequately reflected in these pages. Damages as a result of failing to abide by stated law shall not be the responsibility of BoatU.S., BoatU.S. Foundation or its employees.


2008, BoatUS Foundation. All Rights Reserved.