Illinois Boating Education Law

 

For more information on the boating laws in the state of Illinois visit: www.dnr.state.il.us

Mandatory Education and Age Requirements:

Education Requirements
  • Children under the age of 10 may not operate any type of motorized vessel, including personal watercraft (PWCs).
  • Children between the ages of 10 and 12 may operate a motorized vessel or PWC only if accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age who can take direct control of the craft.
  • Youth at least 12 years of age but less than 18 may operate a motorized vessel or PWC provided they have in their possession a boating safety education certificate given by a course provider approved by the Illinois DNR, or are accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age who can take direct control of the craft.
  • Boaters 18 years of age or older may operate a motorized vessel or PWC without restrictions.
  • Visit www.dnr.state.il.us for more information
  • The BoatU.S. Online Boating Safety Course does not meet this state’s boating education requirements.

We provide this information as a service and strive to keep this website up to date. Please let us know of any inconsistencies by bringing them to our attention at once at onlinecourse@boatus.com. Resources for these pages include state statutes, state web pages and state approved boating guides. BoatU.S. is not responsible for any misinterpretation of the law or any change in the law that is not adequately reflected in these pages. Damages as a result of failing to abide by stated law shall not be the responsibility of BoatU.S., BoatU.S. Foundation or its employees.

 

©2008, BoatUS Foundation. All Rights Reserved.