Colorado Boating Education Law

 

For more information on the boating laws in the state of Colorado visit: http://parks.state.co.us/boating/

Mandatory Education and Age Requirements:

Education Requirements
  • Boating education is mandatory for operators under 16 years of age (persons over the age of 16 may boat without restrictions). A person who is 14 or 15 years of age must take a boating safety course approved by the Colorado State Parks and must keep proof of course completion with them at all times while operating a motorboat or PWC.
  • Persons under the age of 14 may not operate motorboats or PWCs at all.
  • The BoatU.S. Online Safety Course does not authorize 14 and 15 year olds to operate motorboats or PWCs.

We provide this information as a service and strive to keep this website up to date. Please let us know of any inconsistencies by bringing them to our attention at once at onlinecourse@boatus.com. Resources for these pages include state statutes, state web pages and state approved boating guides. BoatU.S. is not responsible for any misinterpretation of the law or any change in the law that is not adequately reflected in these pages. Damages as a result of failing to abide by stated law shall not be the responsibility of BoatU.S., BoatU.S. Foundation or its employees.

 

2008, BoatUS Foundation. All Rights Reserved.