The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is NOT approved by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources to satisfy the mandatory education requirements for boaters under 16 years of age and PWC operators born on or after 12/31/1978.
Anyone may take the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety course as practice or to receive a discount on boat/PWC marine insurance. But Michigan boaters under 16 years of age and PWC operators born after 12/31/1978 must complete a course approved by the Michigan Department of Natural Resources in order to operate on the waters of the state of Michigan. For more information on the boating laws in Michigan, click State Requirements above.
The BoatUS Foundation's Michigan Boating course consists of 6 lessons and a Final Exam. Each lesson has a 10-question quiz at the end to test your knowledge. The Final exam is 75 questions and you must pass with with a score of 80% or better.
To get your Boating Safety Certificate, follow these 3 simple steps:
*This certificate of completion is not NASBLA nor state approved and will not entitle boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators born after 12/31/1978 to operate on the waters of Michigan.