The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is NOT approved by the Massachusetts Environmental Police to satisfy the mandatory education requirements for boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators under 18 years of age.
Anyone may take the BoatU.S. Foundation's Free Online Boating Safety course as practice or to receive a discount on boat/PWC marine insurance. But Massachusetts boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators under 18 years of age must complete a course approved by the Massachusetts Environmental Police in order to operate on the waters of the state of Massachusetts. For more information on the boating laws in Massachusetts, click State Requirements above.
The BoatUS Foundation's Massachusetts Boating course consists of 6 lessons and a Final Exam. Each lesson has a 10-question quiz at the end to test your knowledge. The Final exam is 75 questions and you must pass with with a score of 80% or better.
To get your Boating Safety Certificate, follow these 3 simple steps:
*This certificate of completion is not NASBLA nor state approved and will not entitle boaters under 16 years of age or PWC operators under 18 years of age to operate on the waters of Massachusetts.